Did Fallout 4 Disappoint You (especially the RP aspects)?

• I just started playing Fallout 4. Very late to the party, yes.

Background info: I missed most of the media frenzy surrounding this title. I also didn't play many games over the past two years. I just had a reading week so I jumped in on a borrowed copy. My expectations were neutral so I wasn't entirely disappointed but I find it difficult to enjoy much at all after a good handful of hours. I really like New Vegas and Fallout 3 and this doesn't really capture much of either in my opinion.

The first daunting aspect and the absolute major problem I have this game is that it uses voice acting for a character that you yourself create. I wanted to role play as a bumbling idiot. A pure melee and TNT brute who takes the aggressive route in most scenarios. His name is Ga'a'hl, the Terrible. Unfortunately, my character is forced to be rather civil and articulate in conversation, even with low intelligence. The camera angles didn't help much either. I remember the camera always on the speaker being a major complaint of Mass Effect in 2007, nearly ten years ago, so I'm surprised Bethesda didn't learn from another developers mistakes and direct for a more cinematic feel considering they added VO and camera cuts. However, I'm happy that could be turned off.

Even with minimal expectations, I was disappointed that I couldn't be the character I wanted. Especially since in Fallout New Vegas, you had limited dialogue options when you were low intelligence and people even spoke to you differently. This specific scenario aside however, the dialogue and choices are often limited in general. On many occasions I run around all dialogue options until I finally pick the one the game wants me to. There is only an illusion of choice sometimes. I didn't recall this happen much if at all in the prior games.