December Beer Blog

• November has been a pretty rough month. I'm an engineering student in their final year of university, and so I have been absolutely swamped with assignments, labs, and projects. Stress levels are high, we're all exhausted, and so my friends and I were looking for a way to bring a little joy into our lives, and make these last few weeks of term and final exams survivable.

Our solution? Beer Advent Calendars!

You can buy these premade in store, but we didn't think that'd be much fun, so we grabbed 24 beer loving friends, each bought 24 of beer, wrapped them so they'd be a surprise, labeled them with a number 1-24, and exchanged them so everyone had one of each. The exchange itself was such a jolly time! We had 576 beers in one house (plus the ones we were drinking) and the final result looked like this:

So why am I talking about this here? I seriously love beer, and I try as many types as I can get my hands on, but I've never tried tasting and writing about about beer critically. As I have a beer a day until Christmas I think this is a fun opportunity to write about each beer I try.

I'd love for this to be a conversation as much as possible, so if any of you have tried the beers I try, let me know what you think! Do any of you have any tips for tasting/reviewing beer? I'd love to hear them!

I'll be seeing you all tomorrow with beer No.1! Cheers!

Table of Contents:
    Day One - Sleeman Honey Brown Lager
    Day Two - Guinness Draught
    Day Three - St-Ambroise Oatmeal Stout
    Day Four - New Castle Brown Ale
    Day Five - Bud Light Lime
    Day Six - Sleeman Cream Ale
    Day Seven - Midnight Sun Espresso Stout
    Day Eight - Flying Monkeys Hoptical Illusion
    Day Nine - Molson Canadian
    Day Ten - Kronenbourg 1664 Blanc
    Day Eleven - Maple Shack Cream Ale
    Day Twelve - Chestnut Ale
    Day Thirteen - Red Stripe
    Day Fourteen - Deadman Creek Cranberry Wheat Ale
    Day Fifteen - WinterGlow Madarin IPA