Question: Platform gaming for beginners?

• Hello all -

I am still pretty new to actually gaming and am looking to get some platforming skills. I purchased Shantae Half Genie Hero after seeing the HYPE run Kyle did on stream, but it has proved too difficult for my untrained hands. What are some good basic platformers that I can play to hone my skills?

PC preferable, but we also have a PS4, PS3, and Wii U.

Thanks to all in advance!

• Any and all Mario games. The new ones especially are designed to be played by the inept, unless you go out of your way to find harder challenges.

• The easiest I can think of is Kirby's Epic Yarn on Wii, because you can't die. And if you want to up the challenge you can try to collect everything.

• Rayman Origins/Legends are both really fun, though they do have some challenging sections.

I also have to recommend Shovel Knight, even though it can be pretty tough. Its a great game!

Jak and Daxster is also a good starter in my opinion. You can get the collection for PS3

• @Musou-Tensei I don't typically think of Kirby as a platformer, but his games really are perfect for this! Lots on the Virtual Console, and they can serve as stepping stones towards more advanced platformers.

Yoshi's Wooly World is another delightful game that comes to mind that serves as a great starting point. My first games I ever owned/played as a kid were the Donkey Kong Country titles on SNES, and those are available on Virtual Console. However, I'm fairly sure DKC games can be regarded as kinda tough.