Anime Winter Season 2017: first impressions/discussion

• To preface (again), I'm not going to try and hide it, but I'm a bit of a snob when it comes to anime; a snob to my own developed tastes, but a snob nonetheless, which is why I wanted to post here and see what everyone else was feeling (those that keep up with the seasons).

I'll blow through my "watching list", then hit the impressions after.

Series that have my attention

• Fuuka (current)
    • Little Witch Academia (about to watch episode 2)
    • Scum's Wish (current)
    • Onihei (current)
    • Interviews with Monster Girls (haven't watched newest episode)
    • Saga of Tanya the Evil (current)
    • Miss Kobayashi's Dragon Maid (current)

First Impressions

• Fuuka ~ Full disclosure, I didn't read the manga, and I won't, so I had no idea about Fuuka and it has me hooked and locked. As a musician, I am a SUCKER for series like this (Kids on the Slope is a favorite of recent years and Your Lie In April is my favorite "short" series of all time); series about music, but also about what music IS, how music feels, or the power that music can have. Fuuka starts off incredibly generic, but its the characters' character that let it breathe and expand into its own thing. This series is going to rip me apart and build me up so many times, and I'm so looking forward to it.

• Little Witch Academia ~ I loved the two Little Witch Academia films, and was ecstatic when I heard that Trigger would be making an actual series out of the franchise. Personally, I think they knock it out of the park. The animation is obviously going to be mildly dialed back from its feature film sisters, but I barely noticed. I love that it's basically retelling part of what the first film told, since now we get an even more fleshed out cast of characters and story. I really really hope that this series performs well, because I want more.