Let's Have a Discussion: Are JRPG's Really RPG's?

• Blasphemy! I know, right?

Since i started playing games i never really questioned JRPG's. For me they were my first exposure into what was classified as a role playing game. Maybe this is why i never questioned it. It wasn't until recently when I heard a statement by a developer claiming that they weren't RPG's that it was given any thought. I didn't agree with it at first, but now ive been thinking more and more about it. After playing Dungeons and Dragons with friends, trying CRPG's, years of western RPG's and more recently playing Torment: Tides of Numinera I really feel that there is a legitimate argument that JRPG's are not role playing games at all.

From the JRPG's i have played, i feel no sense of actual role playing in them. I feel like things like turned based battle systems, leveling up, skill trees, hit points and dialogue heavy encounters have all becomes standardized features that makes a game an "RPG". Yes, those are all features or mechanics you find in a role playing game, but none of those have much to do with actual role playing. I will admit something, I haven't touched nearly as many JRPG's as a lot of people in this community have. I wanted to make that clear because i can only speak from the games i have played (which is enough to have a general idea). Based on the games i have played, I've usually taken on a role of a character with zero player agency in which i follow a predetermined path to the end while the only options given to me is how i wish to upgrade my abilities or some games offering a tedious side mission.

The games that are counter to the above description usually have you play a character that you create or is at least given somewhat of a blank slate with a little bit of history sent out into the world to shape it and yourself. The choices you make, the company you keep and how you treat people around you are all dependent on how you wish to play.