Why do YOU stream?

• A little bit of a blog post here so if the mods wanna move it, by all means.

I just had a little bit of a self realization this past week that caused me to change my way of thinking, I had been streaming almost every day since 2011. To little success, had made a little money during one of those years where it half paid for a modded 3DS I used to stream with but basically nothing after that, built a pretty good amount of followers over the 1000s mark, and I used to enjoy the hell out of it.....but what changed?

I just never seemed to succeed at building a community like most people have, despite having so many followers it was usually just the same 3-5 friends I'd made through streaming, and a few other streamers who'd host my channel (Or raid me before hosting was a thing), and that's about it, each game I played was usually less and less people no matter how well known or obscure the game might've been.

It just wasn't.....fun any more, and the way it changed how I played games was affecting my spending habits as well as my opinions on games.

So what did I do? I quit. Cold turkey. Deleted everything streaming from my page, got rid of my software, packed up my capture cards, mic, etc and announced my departure, whereupon I heard literally nothing back from my followers.

Granted the LAST thing I wanted was a pity party or people begging me to stay, but just....nothing, no words of encouragement, no best wishes for whatever I do next, nothing.

I'm personally feeling like a weight has been lifted from me, I don't feel the pressure to get games on day one to make sure I'm riding the hype of a game before nobody cares, I'm no longer wondering if what I'm playing offline needs to be recorded, no stress of making sure my settings and equipment are setup properly, not dealing with dozens of cords everywhere.