Ally-Made Art

• @Gaming_Groove love the first song, the slow pieces are beautiful, very emotional, great work!
    I’m an amateur guitarist myself, love making music, it’s therapeutic, fuel for your soul :)

• Quick 10 minute sketch of Lara Croft made just now in a try to improve my speed, I usually have problem knowing when to stop and spend way too much time on every drawing.
    alt text

• @Gaming_Groove Those toons are sick Groove! Especially that battle theme in the middle of the first vid. Just awesome.

Who are some of your favorite gaming composers? Being the old school fella I am I of course gotta give props to Yuzo Koshiro (streets of rage/actraiser). Lately though, it's all Christopher Larkin (Hollow Knight), Ari Pulkinnen (Trine series/Nex Machina), and Danny Baronowski(Meat Boy/Isaac). It'd be great to hear who some of your influences are man. You've definitely got an ear for it.

• @ZombieProof Thanks! Definitely love Yuzo Koshiro. Pulkinnen and Baronowski have done great work as well. Haven't listed to or played Hollow Knight yet, so I'll have to check it out.

Uematsu of course is a huge influence. His use of leitmotif, basically treating RPG music like writing an opera is something I've always wanted to be able to do.

I actually learned how to use Cakewalk in the mid 90's at about 12 years old when I was trying to make my own versions of some Link's Awakening tunes, so Kozue Ishikawa and Minako Hamano (her work in particular on Super Metroid as well).

I'm also a huge fan of the Panzer Dragoon series, so the composers that have contributed to that series are also big influences. A lot of the modal and folk music I've written probably draws from those games.

As for non-gaming influences, James Horner, Alan Silvestri, and Michael Kamen are definitely up there. I think I get my love of compound meter from Kamen especially.