A hub for the EZA Game Makers!!

• Question for the devs here, what kind of laptop do you Dev on?

Was thinking of getting one of the new surface book 2s coming out but not sure.

• @DemonSwordsman you a coder or artist?

• @CGamor7 I'm a developer, but I havent done any proper game dev yet. Want to learn and try making something after work.

So to answer your question id probably do a bit of both.

• @DemonSwordsman I miss read your question sorry. Thought you were asking between desktop and laptop too. Personally I would go with desktop. If that's at all a thought you've had. Otherwise I think any gaming laptop will do. I don't know much about the surface but from what I do know it wouldn't be something I would get unless someone who knows more told me why. I can see being able to use a pen for art being a bonus but if your rendering you would want a dedicated graphics card. I guess that also depends if your doing high poly modeling, or 3d modeling in general vs 2d. Having more than one screen helps too.

As for a specific laptop I'm not sure if one is better than any others. Hopefully someone else can answer that.

• Hello y'all :) I've been working on a game now for a little more than two years, it's first two chapters got released just like a week ago ;O

https://sigrid.itch.io/sigrid-det-inre-mrkret-kapitel-1-2

(it's sort of an uncomfortable mash of Super Mario 3d world and some of the more darker, voyeuristic swedish young adult novels that I grew up with.)
    (I'm guessing further details on the game are more well-suited for something like a blog post, no?) Anyway.

I've been making every aspect of the game myself, single-handedly, using unity, (engine) monodevelop, (javascript) blender, (3D art) logic pro x, (soundtrack) photoshop (textures) and ... Drumroll ... MICROSOFT WORD (script) (can you believe it??) It took me a lot of time to figure it all out, but once you get the hang of the basic principle of 3D game design, it's easy to go from there.