Puzzled on a contrary opinion

• I was talking to a friend recently about a game he'd given me a loan of Horizon - Zero Dawn. I was telling him how I wasn't really feeling it, and he and another friend of mine couldn't believe what they were hearing and immediately started calling me a hipster (I don't blame them I listen to weird music also we're just generally mean to each other as friends). But for some reason, this struck me more than most other times I have a contrary opinion.

This game looked like it was made for me, big world, exciting creatures, stealthy gameplay and a cool protagonist. However, I started playing, and playing, and playing and eventually I started to hate the game more and more. I played the game for 20 hours and felt like I had gotten nowhere, I felt the game had explained nothing to me. Why where there 7 different bows? Why couldn't one bow be enough with different arrow types, why was there so many different types of armor and weapons, the game told me nothing, it threw me in at the deep end, I hated it. The game boasted cool traversal, walking on ropes silently picking off foes yet whenever you got to a ruin, you couldn't scale any of it, those mechanics were only for anything plastered with a yellow rope.

To sum it up really the game felt too spread thin, it added 500 things but did none of them exceptionally well, however, this game is being so praised. Every podcast I listen to, every video I watch they're all lauding this games praises but all I see are its shortcomings. I think I'm so riled up about this is because I wanted to love it, yet whenever I give it a go I immediately want to see how far I can frisbee it down my back garden till my dog catches it. Has anyone ever been in a similar situation before? What game? and why did it irk you so much.