Xenoblade Chronicles 2 (Switch)

• I'm about 3.5 hours in and am having a blast.

the battle system although similar to x and the original is a huge departure. It starts out slow explaining all the mechanics, but it's definitely necessary. story and music is great so far too.

can't wait to get back to playing it.

• @Bigdude1 i don't fully understand this battle system yet. i just finished chapter one.

from what i understand it's a very rhythmic type of battle system, but i'm not sure how to do things like combos and such yet no matter how much the game explains it to me.

what's the actual indicator that tells me my blade is getting tired and needs to switch? to do a stronger attack, do i wait for 3 standard hits then do an art on the 4th?

i'm a xenoblade veteran but this seems alot more complicated than the last 2 games

• @Yoshi I'm a bit further than you and these things will be explained to you as you progress, so no worries. I don't have the answers to all of your questions yet but one important tip:

Whenever you want to trigger an Art, try do it right as one of your auto-attacks makes contact (to "cancel" the auto-attack, although it's weird they call it that because your auto-attack still does damage so it's not actually cancelled). If you time it right, you'll see a blue circle appear around your character. This will make the Art more effective and make it recharge faster. Also, the effect is stronger if you use it on the third auto-attack of a series rather than the first.

As for combos and stuff, I'm still slowly wrapping my head around it, so far enemies have always died before I had the chance to complete a full combo, so still don't know how that's supposed to look like.

• @Yoshi to do a cancel you have to wait till just after the attack hits and the rhythm of that affects damage, you will see a ring on screen if you did it correctly.