Making Design Documents!

• Hi! I've discussed that I want to make a particular game someday and that I've started to make design documents. So far that has mainly comprised of making character profiles, making concept art, and writing essays on certain aspects of the game.

I have a series of google docs that I'm keeping all this information in. This is what I've got in each google doc.

World: About 2K words and 2 images right now. I've laid out space to detail the locations, culture, government, laws, fashion, language, religion, and entertainment of the world I'm trying to develop. So far I've fully written the descriptions for language, laws, and fashion, and illustrated one location. This is the aspect of the game I know the most about but because I've been developing my ideas for about 9 years now, there's a lot to write and draw and I haven't gotten around to transcribing all of it.

Major Plot Points: This is a newer doc that I'm using to describe aspects of the story that will impact the characters significantly. It's got about 5K words and it covers the history and methods used by the main antagonists and the history and mechanics of an important religious symbol.

Plot Resources: This is a bit of a mess to be honest. It just where I jot down any ideas I have for characters or the world that don't need to be written about in depth. It includes timelines of events for some characters, lists of pets for some characters, lists of quirks or habits that some characters have, lists of characters that make up certain groups or factions, and other miscellaneous information. I also listed things that I want to research further before I work them in to the story and things of that nature. This one is only 1.5K words or so, but it's mainly just lists and stuff.