Anyone here in science/academia?

• Hi all,

Has anyone here on the forums managed to make it through grad school and establish themselves in science/academia, or know someone they could put me in contact with who has? A bunch of personal shit just started happening all in a row back home that's making me question my career path, and I'd like some sort of impartial perspective, if such a thing exists. I just don't really trust my committee (mainly my advisor) here to tell me anything other than what they think I want to hear. They're great at science, but I'm not as sure about personal stuff with them.

• Not sure if it's the same line of science but I'm a surgeon (MD) and also have a master's in public health so if that's helpful to you, feel free to message me

• @Ozymandsss what surgical specialty did you train in?

@naltmank My mother is a professor of biomedical engineering and is 20+ years into her academic career. May not be super relevant to where you are now but may give you some insights into how things could look into the future. Drop me a line if you think that'd be useful. I myself cannot stand the life and struggle of academic science, the constant grind for grants and politics of university structures. Having said that there's plenty of politics that I despise in my current job too so I guess you can't ever really run from that

• @Mango I am a trauma and general surgeon for the US Navy and Marine Corps. I do most everything, from major trauma cases, advanced laparoscopic surgery, to bread and butter general surgery like hernias and breast cancer etc. I enjoy it but def doesn't leave as much time for gaming as I used to have. At least, not during civilized hours...