Shooter Reccomendations

• Hello!

I haven’t ever really played shooting games. I have trouble with motion sickness so I tend to avoid first person games, and I never played shooters growing up, so I never really got into them. I also have always thought that I just have bad aim, but I’ve learned that once I get used to a game, that isn’t necessarily true.

I started playing Splatoon 2 a few months ago and absolutely love it!!! I know that Splatoon isn’t really a typical shooter, but I imagine that the shooting itself probably isn’t too dissimilar from some other games. I’ve heard such good things about a lot of different shooters and I’d like to explore the genre now that I know I might enjoy it, but I’m not sure where to start.

3rd person shooters would obviously work best but I think some first person ones might be ok. I think it comes down to the steadiness/responsiveness of the camera when moving. Games like Metroid Prime make me super sick, but I recently picked up Fallout 4 and it’s only made me a mildly queasy, enough for me to handle at least.

I already own the Mass Effect Trilogy, but haven’t played it yet. I also own Bioshock Infinite and I made it in a few hours before I had to quit. Though I do own the Metroid Prime Trilogy, I’m reluctant to give it another go after my adverse reaction last time. Any shooters you would recommend or advice for mitigating motions sickness would be much appreciated!

Thanks!

Edit: Just found out I can play Fallout 4 3rd person so that’s a big plus.

• It all depends what you're ok with in terms of violence. If you don't mind violence/gore/etc., then Gears of War, Resident Evil, or Dead Space are different mechanically from one another, but are still third person. If you were looking for more online, The Division, Ghost Recon: Wildlands, Warframe, or Plants vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare (1 or 2) are other potential options.