The EZA Community Top 25 Best of 2000!

• @sabotagethetruth with your love of tactics you'll love the references to that games characters that vagrant story makes.

• @sabotagethetruth Same here, it's always intrigued me.

Is it officially set in Ivalice or simply shares some similarities? Are there story elements or characters from FF XII?

• @axel it is in ivalice and while there are locations mentioned that are in 12 no characters are, however there are references to Tactics Characters.

• Vagrant Story is an interesting entry. I like the look of it, but the combat seems like something I wouldn't vibe with. Because this was an age of a plethora of JRPGs (mid 90s through the life of the sixth generation), I feel like this gets grouped into a set of games that are liked a lot, but are forgotten in the passage of time. Which is a shame because this is one of several I hear from around this time period that people want a remaster or new entry.

• I started playing this game right at the beginning of the voting period of this list, and after playing a couple hours i voted it in just because of the cool presentation of the story (good cutscenes!), the dark vibes, and the combat system that i enjoyed at the time. After playing it more, the combat just turned me off slowly, it's very unique for sure but unfortunately it's not my cup of tea, i just felt that i never got any good at it and i didn't feel the desire to learn it either. Looking back, i wouldn't have voted for this at all if i actually played it more.

It's definitely my mistake for voting too early, but i barely had enough games to vote on, the pressure got to me lol.

• Global Moderator

I really wanted to put Vagrant story on my list, but I havent played it "enough" to justify it over some of my other selections for this list.

• Vagrant Story took a while to grow on me, but when everything clicked it was so satisfying.