New and Upcoming Indie Game Releases

• Sometimes it can be easy to overlook many smaller game releases that are coming out, but there have been so many gems this generation when it comes to indie games. I thought it would be a good idea to create a thread dedicated to all of the new and upcoming indie releases to bring more attention to some of these games.

To kick things off, today is the release date of "Devil Engine", a side-scrolling shmup, available on Steam and Switch, coming to PS4 and EXA(?) later this year. It is retailing at 19.99 usd. A free demo is currently available on Steam.

Youtube Video

I think the game looks pretty cool from what I have seen. I have tried the demo and I like the feel and style of the game, although it is extremely difficult. I am not too experienced with the shmup genre, so I am not sure how common some of this game's mechanics are, but I liked how the game offered various speed settings in-game and the burst ability (basically a bullet-dodging barrel-roll) was cool. I will probably hold off on getting this one until the PS4 release comes out, but I am excited for it. Last year I really got into a vertical-scrolling shmup called "Crimzon Clover", which sparked my interest in the genre. I am eager to check out more.

Is anybody else here hyped about Devil Engine? Thoughts?

• Great idea for a thread, and with that said I think this fits well here.

Youtube Video

Amongst the flurry of mediocre high profile games, this seems to have released to a fairly decent reception, and while I haven't looked much into the actual game at the very least it seems like an interest concept.

• @bard91 I was literally about to talk about Eastshade too. It's a very rough but neat game conceptually, and equally rough and a little less neat in execution. That said, I am enjoying my time with it a fair amount. It's a game much more about nature and beauty than actual gameplay, so if you're into that kind of thing then you should give it a shot.