About: Video Game Music - Part 1: History

• Citan
    Music is a mysterious thing... Sometimes, it makes people remember things that they do not expect. Many thoughts, feelings, memories, things almost forgotten. Regardless of whether the listener desires to remember them or not. (...) At times they would have been cheered up... while at times they would have been made to cry.

I played Xenogears many years ago, but never got to finish it. So I was watching Huber's stream, and that particular quote really stood out to me. Being a musician myself, and as passionate about video games as any other Ally, I got inspired and decided to start writing about the importance of music and sound in video games. I want to make this blog series very user-friendly, so even if you don't know anything about music you're welcome to participate. So, we're starting with the very basics: the history of sound and music in video games. I have only planned a second part for this, but we'll see how it goes.

Now, I won't be getting too much into detail about each era, just by reading you'll get right away what years/consoles they represent. I've provided several links to learn more about game music and composers, so definitely check them out if you're interested. Also, I won't be citing too many games, unless they serve a real example to what I'm talking about. I apologize in advance for any game I should've mention but didn't.

Oh and btw, these "eras" are made up by me so you can have a better understanding of the differences between them, but actually they overlap each other by many years, especially when you consider handheld consoles.

Alright, let's just get to it...

Chiptune Era