Attending E3 for the very first time in 2020 - just bought my badge. [WARNING: Wall of text incoming!]

• It had been a dream of mine to attend E3 ever since I found out the about expo back in the 90s as a young teenager. When I was in college I had (possibly misguided) aspirations of becoming a game developer. I figured that by doing so it would guarantee that I would be able to attend this glorious annual gaming event year after year after year. After graduating I tried searching and applying for jobs at several game dev studios, but I kept encountering issues with my lack of prior work experience and relevant education (I graduated with a degree in science) which I assume prevented me from being a competitive, or even relevant, candidate for positions at said studios. After some time, the dream of working at a game development studio slowly began to fade away and reality slowly began to set in. That said, in the last few days, I’ve decided that this year I’m gonna do it – I’m finally gonna attend E3.

Sure, sure… I too have heard all the opinions on internet forums, YouTube, and other sources over the past several years that have claimed that E3 is dying - that E3 sucks now because Sony doesn’t attend anymore and because Nintendo’s presence has been drastically reduced because of their ‘Nintendo Direct’ format strategy in lieu of producing a live press conference in recent years. Other people on the internet complain about how crazy-long the lines are at the event and how they feel that after attending they felt like they didn’t get anywhere near their money’s worth relative to what they paid for access to the event.