GOTY 2020 Frontrunners

• What are your frontrunners for GOTY 2020 before we head into December? My personal Game of the Year isn't a mainstream title and it's barely recognised by most critics presumably because of its blinding brilliance-but Huntdown is my current Game of the Year, a little game that Don recommended and when I bought it and I started playing it I was stunned by how good it was. A retro cyberpunk side-scrolling shoot em up that's witty and funny, with amazingly memorable bosses and slick shooting mechanics-a game I loved so much that it pips The Last of Us Part II to the GOTY contender post.

• There is a little game called The Last of Us Part II, I think it has a tiny chance to win the category this year.

Unfortunately, I am not prepared for GOTY this year. I even play less GOTY contenders than last year. Last year I at least played 3-4 of them but this year I only played Part II. I still want to finish at least the Ori sequel but we will see. Regardless, I don't think my contender would be different even if I played more of them.

• For me it's currently a toss-up between The Last of Us Part II and Final Fantasy VII Remake. Hades is not far behind but for all its ingenious design it didn't reach the emotional heights of the other two. Then there's the elephant in the room, Cyberpunk 2077, which could potentially beat them both, but I doubt I'll get to play it in time for our GOTY votes.

Speaking of which (sorry for the mild thread hijack!), for the forum's GOTY votes I'm thinking of having them a bit later than usual, like some time in February, in order to give people more time to play as many 2020 games as they want, particularly Cyberpunk which I imagine even people who get it at launch may not complete in just a few weeks.

And actually, if most of you prefer to have them even later than that, I see no problem to that. We can always have a "retro" GOTY vote in the meantime.

• @axel