Why is Pokemon the only JRPG I like?

• First off, I just wanna say that I'm new to the Easy Ally guys after seeing Brandon on the Kinda Funny channel a while back, and it's been awesome! I love all the content.

Now this topic has been bugging me for a while now. I wasn't the biggest gamer my whole life despite always having them around almost all the time. I would play games here and there but mostly dive deep into a few franchises I really loved (one being Pokemon). Now granted I don't have time/money to play all that much these days either, but since finding the world of podcasts and video game enthusiast groups, I have been more informed than ever. I consume much more news and content than I actually play games.

Once getting into these hardcore gaming sites and groups, I of course learned a lot about JRPGs, which had never been in my life, outside of Pokemon. The big ones like Final Fantasy, Persona, and other JRPGs were always talked about and I felt like I was missing out on something. I grew up playing Pokemon and it was always in my life. I love those games. And since those are JRPGs, I figured I should like some of the other popular ones out there. So I tried to jump into Persona 4 golden on my Vita.

Long story story short, I played like 12 hours of it and I didn't like it. I don't know what it was. The style? The obscure story? I don't know. But in the end I have come to the conclusion that I just don't really dig Japanese style "stuff". I've tried a few popular animes as well, nope. Not for me. So this hugely popular genre of media just doesn't click with me... Except Pokemon.