A Discussion About Stories in Gaming.

• As you are all no doubt aware, I am a writer. A novelist, or at least I'm trying to be. I mean, what part of Themis the Catgirl gave THAT one away. But, what you might not know is that I love stories. I love writing and reading, I love a good world, great characters, development, and plots. My favorite genre is, naturally, Role-playing games, where story itself is a major game mechanic is usually a big part of why people play them.

That all having been said, I'd love to know how you all feel about stories in games. What are your favorite things in a good story? What games could you replay over and over because of the story? Get detailed, gush about the writing of your favorite games. And never, ever forget about the BONDS made along the way.

Edit: Oh, right... Obviously no spoilers for games, but you can probably talk about certain parts of games without spoiling them.

• Personally, there's a lot of things in games I play that I love. I'm a sucker for love and romance. I love time-travel and fate based encounters and how it can alter and effect a story in interesting ways as a result of your actions. I adore a hero/villain swap, when a hero becomes a villain or vice versa, especially if its character driven (even if they're just being manipulated).

Basically, what I'm trying to say here is that I love Final Fantasy 4 and Chrono Trigger.... but this should come as no surprise.

(Oh, and don't get me started on character development and relationships, we would be here all day, and no one is prepared for my TED Talk on Naruto... Not even Huber.)